‘I Respect You, But I Don’t Trust You’ – Maduro To Obama – 13 April 2015

RT logoThe Venezuelan and US presidents, whose strained relations cast a shadow over the Summit of the Americas in Panama, held a private meeting for the first time in an attempt to alleviate tensions over US-imposed sanctions.

It was a serious and sincere encounter,” Nicolas Maduro said of the meeting, which was held behind closed doors. “We told the truth and I would say it was cordial,” he added.

Hours earlier, speaking at the summit, he was harsher on his US counterpart.

I respect you, but I don’t trust you, President Obama,” Maduro told the summit, although at that moment the US president was absent from the room, holding bilateral talks with Colombia’s president

Read the full story at: www.rt.com / link to original article

Comments are closed.