Tennessee Moves To Make Holy Bible The Official State Book – 16 April 2015

RT logoThe Tennessee House of Representatives has voted to make the Bible the official state book. Legislators backed the measure despite questions raised by the state’s attorney general about the bill’s constitutionality and the governor’s stated disapproval.

Republican state Rep. Jerry Sexton, a pastor for 25 years before being elected in November, sponsored the bill to make the Bible a state symbol.

“History’s going to tell us where we stand on this. I’m grateful to have the opportunity to have the side that I’m on,” Sexton said after the vote. “It may be kind to me in the future and it may not be kind, and that’s OK. I made a decision for today and I feel good about it.”

Read the full story at:  www.rt.com / link to original article

Comments are closed.