Laura Bruno – Converting Lawns To Gardens: Nature’s Harvest Permaculture Urban Farm – 25 April 2015

laura-of-the-rockslaurabruno:

In case it’s not obvious: I completely agree with everything shared in this post. Transform our lawns, transform ourselves, transform our communities. I experience this daily, as I’m out front, meeting neighbors walking their dogs, talking with the next door neighbors as I plant, mulch or weed, having micro-visits with David’s dad as he stops by on his errand runs.

Front yard gardens definitely start conversations, and yes, they are contagious. I know more and more people planting fruit trees and tearing up their lawns. OK, so maybe I called a bunch of people when I saw non-GMO fruit trees on sale at Tractor Supply Co. Maybe I emailed our Transition Goshen team. In any case, a little bit of encouragement and some bold plantings do change everything, season by season.

This post gives excellent advice about getting started on transforming your own yard from a resource sink to a productive source of joy and beauty. Happy planting!
Originally posted on The Druid’s Garden:

Design of Nature's Harvest Permaculture Farm Design of Nature’s Harvest Permaculture Farm – Beautiful, biointensive, productive.

Over the years, I’ve done quite a bit of coverage about lawn issues, as I really do believe that the lawn can be one of the primary sites of transformation and change for ordinary Americans and others in the Western industrialized world. Not only can the lawn be transformed from a consumptive space to a productive one for growing vegetables, herbs, and flowers to benefit humans and other life, but it can be a site of personal reconnection and healing with our landscape.

This is because the lawn is the single piece of nature that the bulk of people, living outside of big cities, encounter on a daily or weekly basis. If we can transform the lawn, we can transform ourselves.

This is why I am so excited about this post–through the example of Nature’s Harvest Urban Permaculture Farm…

View original1,738 more words

www.laurabruno.wordpress.com / link to original article

Comments are closed.